Practicing1

This post is for my blog called “Ludwik’s book.” But I am only practicing. This post will be later renamed and it’s content will be very different.

1) To register (to create an account at the WordPress server) I went to http://www.wordpress.com and subscribed. To register I had to enter the userid, the password, and the email address. My website address was composed from my useris (kowalskil). It is

https://kowalskil.wordpress.com

Entering this address into my browser I am taken to my main screen. The administrative bar (horizontal at the top) shows two menu buttons: MY ACCOUNT and MY BLOGS

2) I decided to have two blogs under this address. In fact, want to create a second blog, to be named “tutorialguide1”.  I do not think I will have more than two blogs. How to create a new blog?

a) MYBLOG –> REGISTER NEW BLOG

I was asked to specify the blog address–I typed “tutorialguide1” (no spaces, lower letters or numbers only).

I was asked to specify the blog’s titel–I typed “common tasks.”

Language ? English

Privacy? Everyone can read

Language for …? English

Then I clicked the CREATE BLOG –> button.

That was it. The blog was created. It’s URL is http://userguide1.wordpress.com/

c) Another thing I do not know is the different appearance of my two blogs. I expected them to have the same look because in both cases I expected to be under the  control of the default theme. It looks that the default can change from day to day. I will start experiencing with themes at some later time.

d) I have two blogs. Only one of them can be active at any given time, I suppose. To “be active” means to be open for creating input. How do I decide which blog should become active, after I open my account; that is after typing the wordpress.com into the window of my browser? By pressing the MYBLOG menu and then clicking on the icon of the blog with which I want to work. The selected blog becomes active and I can start creating post in it.

The UPDATE button, seen on the right the post being typed, must be pressed in order to create the post on the WordPress website. Only then does the post become available on the Internet. That is what I have just done. It is time to create another post. To accomplish this, when I am in the dashboard mode, I will click on the POST  and then on the ADD NEW. I am ready to do this now. But first let me UPDAT the post. I will continue writing what I learn in the next post.

About Ludwik Kowalski

My profile is at: http://csam.montclair.edu/~kowalski/my_profile.html
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment